Skip to content

Eye Candy And Toys


© Cléo Dubois

On Folsom Street at Sunday’s Fair

Leatherfolk and kinksters of all flavors gathered en masse at Sunday’s Folsom Street Fair.  Eye candy was everywhere, as cosplay aficionados floated in and around the sea of black leather and shiny latex.

Celebration ruled!  It was a wonderful day of freedom in the San Francisco streets.

One of the busiest booths was Society of Janus, where the curious were initiated in broad daylight.  Whip Masters and Mistresses offered their skill to the curious public.  I certainly hope that the taste they got left them wanting more.

Cleo's floggers ... photo by Fakir

Cleo’s floggers … photo by Fakir

The “toys” we play with really are just extensions of our energy; another way of saying, it is what you make it.  If you have negotiated a flogging as a healing ritual, it will feel very different than a flogging for play punishment. Both the top and the bottom’s intent and energy will flavor not only the tools you choose to use, but the exchange and its dynamic.  Whips and floggers come in all sizes, shapes, and quality of craftmanship.

verybig-50-1

Classic French Martinet

For me, it all started with a plain wooden handled little martinet with a dozen strands of rough boot lace leather that hung on a peg in my childhood bathroom, embodying threats of punishment for misconduct.  Such a common item, every French household had one when I was growing up.   Although rarely used, it certainly left an impression deep in my psyche. I suspect it must be where my exquisite flogger collection took root. Funny how 30 years later at a Fetish night back in Paris, I was given that little cat of nine stingy tails as a party favor!

No one would dare be seen using such a humble toy in play these days. What was once a “cottage industry” has blossomed into big business.  These floggers, from pedestrian to amazing in their balance, choice of  animal skin, design and color, are still the extension your intent.

I want my partner to feel that the toy I am striking them with conveys my sensual and sadistic desires, or I might as well whip the couch!

I love flogging, so much healing can occur under the leather lashes, and it’s a lot of fun!

CDA3However, my very favorite Top toy is the cane.  Delivering a good slow caning, leaving a perfect little grid on my subject‘s behind really turns me on!  Do you know that canes can be versatile?

Curious?  Mark your calendar, October 29 and join me at the SF Citadel for “In the Line of Fire,” a fine caning playshop. Class from 8-10pm.  Click here and save $5

If you want me to cane you during the class, come up and mention this blog post! I’d love to meet some of my readers and … you do not need to be a heavy player, keeping your pants on is up to you!

In kink with heart,

Cléo Dubois

Coaching couples interested in the eroticism of mutually satisfying BDSM play and teaching weekend Intensives in San Francisco is my passion. If you are curious or confused about kink, Skype and ask me anything! I’ll stir your imagination with a new real story here every Saturday morning at 10am!  Enjoy, comment, share!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

